Best (or worst) 10 …

It’s that time of the year when “The Best 10 something” syndrome attacks us.

I surrender to the end-of-the-year-need-to-list-pathology and I’ll give you 10 lists of 10 [insert category]. Difficult to limit to 10 for books, films, and  music, so the 10 books, films, and albums I’ve listed are just the first that came to my mind – in alphabetical order.

 

10 Novels I’d carry with me on a desert island

Italo Calvino, Invisible Cities

J.M. Coetzee, Foethe_little_prince_quote_by_geekyspaz-d314eqb

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

Bohumil Hrabal, Too Loud a Solitude

Edna Ferber, So Big

Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea

José Saramago, Blindness

Laurence Sterne, Tristram Shandy

Simona Vinci, In Every Sense Like Love

William Faulkner, The Sound and the Fury

 

10 American ‘things’ that I don’t understand (and slightly despise)

Parallel driving

Lines at buffets

Hot brown water that they call coffee

Black Friday

Tailgates

Toilet stalls

That-you-can-join-the-army-and-kill-at-18-but-you-can’t-have-a-glass-of-wine

Christmas trees without roots

Crappy airlines

Scented candles

 

10 Albums that had a strong impact on my musical growth

David Bowie, Ziggy Stardust

John Coltrane, A Love Supreme

Miles Davis, Bitches Brew

Joy Division, Unknown Pleasures

Francesco Guccini, Guccini Live Collection

Jimi Hall, Concierto

Keith Jarrett, The Köln Concert

Liftiba, Desaparecido

Sex Pistols, Never Mind the Bollocks

Tom Waits, Rain Dogs

 

10 Foods I don’t eat

Raw tomatoes

Grapes

Cherries

Cinnamon

Cucumbers

Fast-food

Flavored snacks & flavored chips

Chicken feet & pigs feet (but I eat, or ate, most of other animal parts)

Pickles

Sodas (I know we don’t ‘eat’ sodas but I’m quite omnivore and couldn’t reach 10!)

 

10 favorite visual artists

Marina Abramović

Diane Arbus

Francis Bacon

nightMax Beckmann

Hieronymus Bosch

Caravaggio

Giorgio De Chirico

Frieda Khalo

Marc Rothko

Egon Schiele

 

10 random overrated ‘things’

Saint Peter’s  Basilica

F.S. Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Florence

Getting married

Impressionist painters

Cupcakes

Holiday decorations

God

Smart phones (just got one and already miss my little ‘dumb’ phone)

Power tools

 

10 films that marked my obsession with cinema

Michelangelo Antonioni, L’eclisse

Ingmar Bergman, The Seventh Seal

Luis Buñuel, The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie

David Cronenberg, Videodrome

Peter Greenaway, A Zed and Two Naughts

Werner Herzog, Heart of Glass

David Lynch, Blue Velvet

Eric Rohmer, My Night with Maude

Jos Stelling, The Pointsman

Wim Wenders, Alice in the Cities

 

10 things I don’t have (and don’t want) but most (Americans) wouldn’t live without

Microwave

Spring box

Cable television

Chemical cleaning products

Matching nightstands with matching lamps

Pictures of family members/significant others on walls and shelves

Table lamps in the living room

A manicured lawn

A gigantic trash bin in the kitchen

Pets (well, I’d love a cat but for practical reasons it would be too complicated)

 

10 Authors I’ve read/seen/listened to in their (almost) entirety

Michelangelo Antonioni

J.M. Coetzee

Italo Calvino

Erri De Luca

Emily Dickinson

William Faulkner

François Truffaut

Henry James

Pier Paolo Pasolini

Tom Waits

 

10 [adjective] ‘Things’ in 2013…

Most detested word: Paleo

A term I really really don’t get: My Person

Best film in theater: Blancanieves (Pablo Berger, 2012)

Best novel: Arab Jazz (Karim Miské, 2012)

Best Italian film: La grande bellezza (Paolo Sorrentino, 2013)

Author I’ve read for the first time and wondered why I waited so long: Haruki Murakami

Novel re-read and enjoyed again: The Edible Woman (Margaret Atwood, 1969)

Angry for: Republican continuous war on women

Happy for: Nobel Prize in Literature to Alice Munro

Glad that: I went to see The National live!

 

To conclude, if you want to read some great lists, go to the McSweeney‘s Internet Tendency.

 

Leave a Reply

