“The Great Gatsby” or “Twilight”? – An Irreverent ‘Game of Quotes’

Is F.S. Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby a literary masterpiece? No doubt that Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight is just a (not so well written) novel for (female) teenagers. But are literature and popular culture so different?

Guess from which book I took each of the following quotes, The Great Gatsby or Twilight.  After you’ll have played this irreverent ‘Game of Quotes’, you may end up with a different idea about Fitzgerald’s novel (yes, you’re correct: I think it’s very very overrated).

  1. “I’m p-paralyzed with happiness.” She laughed again, as if she said something very witty, and held my hand for a moment, looking up into my face, promising that there was no one in the world she so much wanted to see.
  2. I couldn’t be sure how I felt when my head was spinning so crazily. “Dizzy, I think.” […] his face so close to mine. His beauty stunned my mind – it was too much, an excess I couldn’t grow accustomed to.
  3. “You think I’m pretty dumb, don’t you?” he suggested. Perhaps I am, but I have a – almost a second sight, sometimes, that tells me what to do. Maybe you don’t believe that, but science—.”
  4. “Well, I’m going to tell you something about my life,” he interrupted. “I don’t want you to get a wrong idea of me from all these stories you hear.”
  5. The house was timeless, graceful, and probably a hundred years old. It was painted a soft, faded white, three stories tall, rectangular and well proportioned. The windows and doors were either part of the original structure or a perfect restoration.
  6. His short hair looked as though it were trimmed every day. I could see nothing sinister about him.
  7. I couldn’t forgive him or like him, but I saw that what he had done was, to him, entirely justified.
  8. I looked once more at them and they looked back at me, remotely, possessed by intense life. Then I went out of the room and down the marble steps into the rain, leaving them there together.
  9. He touched a comparatively sedate quartet of figures painted on the highest balcony, looking down calmly on the mayhem below them. I examined the grouping carefully and realized, with a startled laugh, that I recognized the golden-haired man.
  10. But his heart was in a constant, turbulent riot. The most grotesque and fantastic conceits haunted him in his bed at night. A universe of ineffable gaudiness spun itself out of his brain while the clock ticked on the washstand and the moon soaked with wet light his tangled clothes upon the floor.

 

Scroll down for the answers.

 

Gatsby_1925_jacket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Great Gatsby: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10

twilight_book_cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twilight: 2, 5, 9

 

 

Quotes (page number)

  • F.Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby (1925), New York: Collier Books, 1980.

1 (p. 9), 3 (p. 122), 4 (p. 65), 6 (p. 50), 7 (p. 180), 8 (p. 97), 10 (p. 99)

  • Stephanie Meyer, Twilight (2005), New York & Boston: Little Brown, 2006.
  1. (p. 281), 5 (p. 321), 9 (p. 340)
Leave a Reply

